I am experimenting with Kefir grains... water & milk. If you have never seen a kefir grain... the photo above is of milk kefir grains..................
I hear that it is best to use raw milk.... if I were a bit richer I would use raw milk, it goes for $7 a gallon. I use regular 2% milk since I am a poor gal lol I make a batch of milk kefir daily. I just now have started increasing the amount I am making to almost 2 cups a day. I drink a cup in the morning. I make a delicious smoothie in the mornings! MMMMMMMMMM!
Recipe is as follows:
1 cup milk kefir
1/2 frozen banana
3 T. frozen strawberry puree ( I have begun to make this weekly I puree up a bunch of fresh strawberries & freeze them in a popsicle tray)
1 tsp. ground flax seed
squirt of flax seed oil
*sometimes I add a scoop of protein shake)
This is soooo refreshing & tasty! Mmmmmm! yummy! It kinda has a hint of lemony taste (from the kefir)
Back to the Kefir grains... they eat the sugar from the milk & it ferments the milk.. I know sounds yucky but it is actually quite good. Speaking of good, it puts the good bacteria back in your gut. It is a natural probiotic & helps with the immune system. If you like buttermilk you will definitely like kefir milk. I don't like buttermilk but I find myself craving kefir. I started out buying it from the store & at $3.99 for oh I say about 1/2 a quart that gets expensive if you are drinking it twice a day!! So that is when I decided that I would start making it myself! I am saving money!! yay!
